I Did It For Me. 

  

Recently I was informed that someone I barely knew thought my hair was not “professional” and that they did not like the “natural” look. Instead, they preferred my hair straighten like I had done a few weeks ago. Now when I initially heard this and learned who said it, I couldn’t help, but laugh. I couldn’t understand how someone who in my opinion had no sense of what being “professional” was could even make such a statement. 

When I decided to go “team natural,” it was after having my first child and going through an excessive amount of hair loss. This was due to hormones and the non shedding of  hair while pregnant. I had so much hair falling out every time I washed and combed it, I was very scarred. The extra hair grown from pregnancy went from long and thick to long and thin in a matter of 3-4 months. 

After about a year later, I decided I needed a change.  Although my hair loss was not due to relaxers per se a big part of that change was deciding not use any harsh chemicals in my hair and for me that meant cutting out relaxers. Today I am proud to say that I have been natural for nearly 5 years now and I think I have done a pretty good job when it comes to styling my hair. 

To the folks who have something to say, I don’t have any problems with you stating that natural hair doesn’t work for you.  That is your personal preference. However, commenting that the look is not “professional” is just your opinion and it has no significance in my life. 

At the end of the day, my  hair  is MY hair and I chose to become natural for me and no one else.

Leave a Reply

