Meaty Zucchini & Spinach Lasagna Rolls

When I decided to stay home for nearly a year and a half after leaving Nordstrom, to spend time with my family, I discovered my love for cooking. I had always cooked prior, however I wasn’t able to do so as often as I would have liked. Being at home allowed me to play with different recipes and create my own at the same time. Whenever I made something knew and I made it a point to take pictures of the process hoping to put it on the blog, however you know how life is when you let it get the best of you!

My husband and I love to entertain our friends and family over the years and have received many compliments of how tasty our dishes have tasted. Furthermore, it’s always a plus if the kids like it because then you know you are doing something right!  I will be posting a a few recipes that my family and I love and want to share with you. I hope you will try them and let me know what you think! 

Without further adew, here you go!

What you will need:

-1 box of Lasagna noodles

-1 tsp 
-2  8oz cans of tomato sauce

-1 can of tomato paste

-1 package of ground turkey

-1 package of mixed cheese (2 cups)

-1 cup of fat free ricotta cheese 

-1 1/2-2 zucchini’s

-1/2-1 whole onion

-1/2-1 whole green pepper

-1 egg

-1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

-1/4 cup of basil (or substitute for a few dashes out the bottle)

-2 Tbsp of grated Parmesan (or sprinkle as much as you like can also be substituted for packaged shredded Parmesan)

-A few dashes of Season All (to taste) for sauce or substitute with salt 

-Additionally you can had a little garlic, oregano and other herbs and spices you like 

Now, begin by boiling your lasagna noodles. I cooked 8 of them to cover a standard Pyrex baking pan (or whatever you have).

Second I cooked my ground turkey along with my onions and green peppers until well cooked. Then I added my tomato sauce and paste mixing in a few dashes of Season All to taste ( I also threw in a few dashes of oregano, garlic powder, parsley and Italian seasoning).

Next up while my sauce is on medium heat marinating for about 10 min. I prepare in a bowl my rocatta cheese, nutmeg, basil, egg  and spinach a mix together. 

Once the noodles were done, I layed them out on my cutting board and spread my roccata cheese mix on top and added some slices of zucchini on top (The original recipe did not call for zucchini and only included 6 noodles so I had to spread mixture out sparingly. Lol!

Once done, you roll them up. You then put just enough sauce to coat the bottom of the pan and place rolls on top side by side. Next up you pour the other half of your sauce on top and then cover with shredded cheese of your choice to bake about 25 min. (sorry forgot to include that picture). Afterwards, you can sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on top and bake for an additional 10 min. uncovered. 

Tadah! Now you have a cheesy and tasty  meal for you and the family to enjoy with hidden healthy goodness! 🤗

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

